Current Elections

The official filing period begins on Monday, July 18, and ends on Friday, August 12

General Candidate Information – Oceanside’s Elected Offices 

Oceanside’s next General Municipal election will be held on Tuesday, November 8, 2016. The positions up for election include the Mayor, two members of the City Council, the City Clerk, and the City Treasurer.

All elected officials are elected at large. There are no districts assigned to any Council seats. Each elected position serves a term of four years. There are no limits on the number of terms an elected official can serve.

Municipal elections are also nonpartisan. Candidates are not asked their political party affiliation.

Oceanside is a Charter City but follows the California Elections Code, Government Codes and Fair Political Practices Commission regulations in all election matters. The City Clerk serves as the Election Officer for the City. All election-related questions should be addressed to the City Clerk Department at (760) 435-3000 or e-mailed to

Oceanside consolidates its elections with San Diego County, working with the San Diego County Registrar of Voters.

Newly elected or re-elected officials will be sworn into office on Wednesday, December 7, 2016.

For more information on how to run for office click here

Legal Notices

Notice of Election







General Information

(275.4 KB)





Ballot Order of Candidates

(498.7 KB)



Notice of Nominees