Martin Luther King, Jr., Community Service Award

The Oceanside City Council annually honors a resident of Oceanside or Marine Corps Base Camp Pendleton with the Martin Luther King, Jr., Community Service Award. This award is given to someone who exemplifies the philosophy and ideals of the late Dr. King, who worked to advance civil rights, equal education, labor rights, voter rights, and who fought racial inequality through non-violence and civil disobedience.
The award particularly emphasizes volunteer activity and service to the people and City of Oceanside by a person outside of a work setting and over a long time. The Commission is now seeking nominations for the 2015 award. An ad hoc committee appointed by the Oceanside Housing Commission will select the award recipient from the nominations.

The honoree for 2015, Charles Adams, Sr., was announced on January 19, 2015, at the annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Prayer Breakfast commemorating the life and work of Dr. King. Any resident of the City of Oceanside or member of the U.S. Armed Forces stationed at MCB Camp Pendleton may be nominated regardless of race, ethnicity, national origin or type of community service; the only qualification is volunteer activity and community service that has benefited the residents and the City of Oceanside.

Previous Honorees
1990 Oscar Culp 2002 SSgt. Matias Anderson
1991 Terry Johnson 2003 Gwen Sanders
1992 Rev. Gerald Stinson 2004 Rev. Clyde K. Shideler
 1993 Miriam Ship-Tolliver El  2005 James McCargo
 1994 Reginald Owens  2006 Willie E. Little, Sr.
 1995 Kay and Harold Kutler    2007 Ronald Daniel
 1996 Concha Hernandez Greene and Connie Johnson  2008 Janet Bledsoe Lacy
 1997 Lillian Adams     2010 Dennis and Diana Cleary
 1998 Alfonso C. Harris  2011 Kay Parker
 1999 Milton C. Taylor  2012 Colleen O'Harra
 2000 E. Marie Swan  2013 Max Disposti
 2001 Dorothy Foster  2014 Raye Clendening