The Oceanside Police Department Records Section is responsible for the maintenance, dissemination and security of all criminal investigation documents. Currently the Records Section maintains approximately 300,000 criminal reports. General crime incident and arrest reports are maintained up to 10 years; reports of child abuse, sex crimes and homicide reports are kept indefinitely; missing persons and stolen gun cases are maintained, if outstanding, up to ten years or until the person or weapon is located.
Each year Records Technicians process approximately 30,000 reports generated by members of the Police Department. Those documents also require records personnel to enter and clear more than 950 missing persons, complete more than 8900 vehicle entries, enter more than 50,000 pieces of stolen property, and update sex registrant information in accordance to Penal Code 290 requirements. The Records Section also responds to approximately 15,000 Public Records Act requests received each year via telephone, fax, mail, and in person from the public counter. Each request is reviewed for dissemination per government statutes.
Records is staffed from 7:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m Monday - Friday. The Records counter is open to the public Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. During these times the public can contact Records staff to request copies of traffic accident reports and crime incident reports. Records staff will do their best to answer any questions that the public may have regarding police reports, local records checks, Records Seals and State Criminal History requests.
A request for a copy of a police report or 911 recording and CAD requests can be made in person with photo identification at the Records Section window located inside the main lobby. The request a copy also may be made by mail by writing to: Oceanside Police Department, Attention: Records, 3855 Mission Avenue, Oceanside, CA 92058. All reports are subject to release in accordance with the California Public Records Act. The fee is $5.50 per report. When requesting a report or contacting the Records Section for an incident, the case number, date, time, location of incident and names of parties involved may be required. Requests are processed on a continuous basis and are filled within 10 business days of the original request.
Records can also complete a request for a Local Records Check for Oceanside residents or former Oceanside residents. Valid photo identification must be presented. Requests are fulfilled within five days. The fee is $10 per request.
Acceptable methods of payment:
- Credit Card
- Money Order payable to: City of Oceanside
Repossession fees are also collected at the Records Section window. The fee is $15 and must be paid in cash.
The Records Section issues vehicle releases when vehicles have been stored or impounded due to a California Vehicle Code violation. The registered owner of the vehicle must be present to obtain the release or provide a required notarized authorization along with the vehicle’s license plate number and/or vehicle identification number (VIN). The vehicle release fee will depend on the particular CVC violation and must be paid, in cash only, before the release will be issued.
If you suspect your vehicle may have been stolen or impounded, you can contact the Records Section at 760-435-4944 and provide your vehicle license plate number or VIN to inquire on the status of the vehicle.